Minnesota Duluth’s McParland, Lacquette, Wong, Black honored by WCHA

Minnesota Duluth sophomore forward Jenna McParland of Schreiber, Ontario, along with defensemen, sophomore Brigette Lacquette of Mallard, Manitoba, and senior Jessica Wong of Baddeck, Nova Scotia, were named to the 2013 All-Western Collegiate Hockey Association women’s second team Thursday. The complete WCHA release is here.

UMD freshman goalie Kayla Black of Blyth, Ontario, was voted to the third team and rookie team.

Undefeated and No. 1-ranked Minnesota swept the major awards: junior forward Amanda Kessel as player of the year, forward Hannah Brandt rookie of the year and Brad Frost coach of the year.

Three University of Minnesota players – senior defenseman Megan Bozek, senior goalie Noora Raty and Kessel – have been named the three finalists for the 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, which goes to the top player in Division I. It marks the first time the finalists have come from one school in the award’s 16-year history. The award will be presented March 23 in Minneapolis. A release is here.