Who is Hobey Baker and who will win at 5 p.m. Friday?

The 2012 Hobey Baker Memorial Award winner on Friday will come from among three senior forwards who rank 1-2-3 in Division I scoring — Maine’s Spencer Abbott, Minnesota Duluth’s Jack Connolly and Colgate University’s Austin Smith.

A one-hour ceremony begins at 5 p.m. CDT in Tampa, Fla., and will be on the NHL Network and the Hobey Baker websiteĀ here.

One of the best background pieces on the life and times of Hobey Baker, a Princeton University phenomenon from the turn of the last century and World War I fighter pilot, was done this week by Joe Smith of the Tampa Bay Times right here.

The News Tribune takes a look at Connolly and another four-year UMD star, Norm Maciver, in a story here.

Bruce Ciskie looks at Jack Connolly’s time at UMD here.

U.S. College Hockey Online makes a final prediction on who will win the 32nd annual award here.

The Northland’s NewsCenter has some Connolly video here.

College Hockey News has already named its player of the year here.

2012 All-American teams will be announced just before the Hobey Baker Memorial Award ceremony.

In Thursday’s semifinals, Ferris State defeated Union College 3-1 and Boston College beat Minnesota 6-1. The Ferris State-Boston College title game is 6 p.m. Saturday (ESPN2).

BC-Minnesota game stories from the Minneapolis Star Tribune are here and here and here and St. Paul Pioneer Press here.

The Boston Globe has a story here.

Union-Ferris State game stories from the Schenectady (N.Y.) Daily Gazette here and the Detroit Free Press here.

Also, from the St. Cloud Times on forward Drew LeBlanc of Hermantown coming back for a final season following a leg injury in a story here.