Sandelin among 2011 Coach of the Year candidates

This release Tuesday from the WCHA:

Eight coaches have been named finalists for the 2011 Spencer Penrose Award, given to the NCAA Division I men’s coach of the year.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared Coach of the Year honors in his conference, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the NCAA Division I semifinals.

Of this year’s finalists, five were past recipients and one, Jeff Jackson of Notre Dame, is both an NCAA semifinalists and a conference Coach of the Year (CCHA) this season.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. It will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Saturday evening, April 30. The winner will be announced following the NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship scheduled for April 7 and 9 in St. Paul, MN.

2011 AHCA Men’s Ice Hockey Spencer Penrose Award Candidates

Red Berenson, Michigan— NCAA Semifinalist*
Dean Blais, Nebraska Omaha—WCHA Coach of the Year*
Dave Hakstol, North Dakota— NCAA Semifinalist
Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame—CCHA Coach of the Year and NCAA Semifinalist*
Nate Leaman, Union—ECAC Coach of the Year
Paul Pearl, Holy Cross—AHA Coach of the Year
Scott Sandelin, Minnesota Duluth— NCAA Semifinalist*
Jerry York, Boston College—HE Coach of the Year*
* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner

8 thoughts on “Sandelin among 2011 Coach of the Year candidates

  1. “WHAT? Sandelin?” asks Beer Btwn Period’s Wife. Are they trying to put my husband over the edge???

  2. Congratulations to Coach Sandelin. He (I’ll include his entire staff as well) has done such a solid job over the years. It is good to see when solid work is recognized. As we all know the WCHA is a very tough conference top to bottom. Not only do these folks do a solid job on the ice they recruit good student-athletes that are fine representatives of the University and the broader Bulldog community. Go Dogs!!!

  3. Hard to beat what Hakstol has done this year, so many wins and TWO conference trophies.
    Sandelin has indeed rescued the season after letting it slide in January and February, but he hasn’t won anything yet. Hope they win the title and he wins the award! Great job by the assistants too.
    Go Dogs!

    • I agree that there was a hiccup after the New Year but one has to take into account that the Dogs lost a pretty good defenseman (a 1st round draft choice) on defense and moved into a brand new building. Transitions/change often take some time to make the necessary adjustments.

  4. My vote would be for Blais. No slight against Sandelin; he did and is still doing a fantastic job, and personally I’d love to see a Hibbing guy win the award. But UNO had a fantastic season, better than anyone expected or predicted.

  5. Congrats to Sandy and also Dean Blais!! Both pushed their teams to greatness this season.

    As far as Hakstol, with as much talent as North Dakota has, a department store mannequin could have coached them to the Frozen Four?

  6. Scott Sandelin and staff have done an outstanding job year in year out. He’s a class act!!! After the season ends UMD better give him and the staff contract extentions! I have heard from a good source that Penn St. has been sniffing around.

Comments are closed.