Regular-season finale: No. 8 at No. 11

The regular season finishes up Friday and Saturday with No. 8 Nebraska-Omaha at No. 11 Minnesota Duluth at 7:07 p.m. on My 9. Either team can finish from second to fourth in the WCHA standings. Both will be home for next week’s opening playoff round. They are meeting for the first time as WCHA members.

UMD junior defenseman Brady Lamb returns to the lineup after being sidelined for two weeks with an upper-body injury.

UMD’s lineup:

Mike Connolly-Jack Connolly-Justin Fontaine; Kyle Schmidt-Travis Oleksuk-J.T. Brown; Mike Seidel-Jake Hendrickson-Joe Basaraba; Max Tardy-Keegan Flaherty-David Grun.

Justin Faulk-Mike Montgomery; Wade Bergman-Brady Lamb; Drew Olson-Chad Huttel.

Kenny Reiter-Aaron Crandall.

The Omaha World-Herald has a series preview here.

The News Tribune takes a look at long-time friends Dean Blais and Scott Sandelin in a story here.

The UMD sports information office has series notes here.

The UNO sports information office has notes here.

UMD radio voice Bruce Ciskie weighs in on the end of the regular season here.

WCHA Final Five single-game tickets go on sale Monday. Information is here.

Sioux chews on some PairWise stats affecting WCHA teams this weekend here.

The Minneapolis Star-Tribune has WCHA weekend predictions here.

Dan Myers of College Hockey News makes his 2011 all-WCHA picks here.

Jess Myers, no relation, of Inside College Hockey has a weekly WCHA column here.

Shane Frederick of the Mankato Free Press takes a Friday tour of what’s ahead in the final regular-season weekend here.

Brad Schlossman of the Grand Forks Herald does the same here.

U.S. College Hockey Online previews the WCHA weekend here.

And USCHO has a late-week Bracketology update here.

The WCHA women begin the Final Face-Off on Friday at Ridder Arena in Minneapolis — UMD vs. Minnesota, 7:07 p.m., and North Dakota vs. Wisconsin, 4:07 p.m. — and handed out league awards Thursday. The awards details are here.

UMD junior center Haley Irwin is among 10 finalists for the 2011 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. Senior defenseman Jocelyne Larocque was the WCHA women’s scholar-athlete winner and top defenseman winner.

A look at UMD Swedish linemates Elin Holmlov and Pernilla Winberg is in the News Tribune here.

The Minneapolis Star Tribune takes a look at the women Gophers here.

2 thoughts on “Regular-season finale: No. 8 at No. 11

  1. Big difference between mentor and protege: Wins.
    Come on Dogs, stick it to these cornfield hicks!

Comments are closed.