USA Hockey Honors Potter

   Here’s a Thursday USA Hockey release concerning 2010 national award winners, including Minnesota Duluth all-time women’s scoring leader Jenny Potter being named women’s player of the year Full release is here:

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Hockey will host its 2010 Annual Congress from Thursday, June 10, through Sunday, June 13, at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo. The four-day event provides USA Hockey’s various councils, committees and affiliates the opportunity to conduct the organization’s business and celebrate the year’s accomplishments. In addition, two dinners will be staged to honor those who have contributed to the great success of USA Hockey.

Jenny Potter
Bob Allen Women’s Player of the Year

The most senior member of the U.S. Women’s National Team and U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team, Jenny Potter was one of Team USA’s most dynamic offensive threats throughout the 2009-10 season. Potter logged 11 points (6-5) in five games at the Olympic Winter Games, setting a U.S. Olympic single-tournament record along with Natalie Darwitz. Her 32 career points (11-21) at the Olympics is the most in U.S. history. Potter also became the first woman in Olympic history to collect two hat tricks as she helped lead Team USA to the silver medal. As part of the U.S. Women’s National Team, Potter averaged better than a point per game and finished third on Team USA in points (23). She also recorded her 200th career point on Dec. 12.

Blake Geoffrion
College Player of the Year

In 2009-10, Blake Geoffrion helped lead the University of Wisconsin Badgers to the NCAA title game, while capturing the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the nation’s top collegiate player. Geoffrion completed the season second in the Western Collegiate Hockey Association with 34 points in 25 league games, while ranking third in the overall scoring race with 28 goals in 40 games. The All-WCHA First Team selection led the nation with 15 power-play goals and was named the most valuable player at the NCAA West Regional. The RBK/American Hockey Coaches Association First Team All-American became the first-ever Badger to receive the Hobey Baker Memorial Award.