3 to Scouting Combine

     Defenseman Derek Forbort of Duluth, along with Minnesota Duluth recruits Justin Faulk of South St. Paul and Joe Basaraba of Fort Frances, Ontario, have been invited to an NHL Scouting Combine on May 24-29 in Toronto, Ontario, in advance of the 2010 NHL Entry on June 25-26. The top 100 prospects will be at the combine.

     Forbort (a North Dakota recruit) and Faulk, a defenseman, play for the USA Under-18 team in Ann Arbor, Mich., while Basaraba, a forward, is at Shattuck-St. Mary’s in Faribault, Minn.

     A full list of the combine prospects is here.

    Also, UMD recruit Cal Decowski, a senior forward at Andover (Minn.) High School, has played eight games with Des Moines (Iowa) since the end of the high school season and has four assists.

     Also, the rosters for the 2010 Frozen Four Skills Competition, April 9 at Ford Field in Detroit. The competition is puck control relay, fastest skater, hardest shot, rapid fire shooting, accuracy shooting and penalty shot. Each competitor receives a set of equipment and a full uniform from Bauer Hockey.

     East men — Alex Biega, Harvard; Neil Graham, Mercyhurst; Kory Falite, Mass.-Lowell; Owen Meyer, Army; Neil Musselwhite, Oswego State; and Jason Walters, Union. The goalies are: Andrew Braithwaite, Merrimack and Ben Scrivens, Cornell.

     East women — Melissa Anderson, Boston U.; Anna McDonald, Harvard; Sarah Parsons, Dartmouth; Kelly Paton, New Hampshire; Britni Smith, St. Lawrence and Allie Thunstrom, Boston College. The goalies are Brittony Chartier, St. Lawrence and Melissa Haber, Boston U.

     West men — Zach Harrison, Minnesota State Mankato; Ryan Lasch, St. Cloud State; Zac MacVoy, Lake Superior State; Kyle Page, Bowling Green; Mathieu Picard, Ohio State and Nick Sucharski, Michigan State. The  goalies are: Brian Stewart, Northern Michigan and Andrew Volkening, Air Force.

     West women — Kelli Blankenship, Minnesota; Rachel Davis, Ohio State; Caitlin Hogan, St. Cloud State; Kyla Sanders, Wisconsin; Chelsea Walkland, Robert Morris and Ashley Young, Minnesota State Mankato. The goalies are: Lauren Bradel, St. Thomas (Minnesota) and Lindsey Park, Wayne State (Michigan).