Hobey Baker Voting

St. Paul -– Union College senior forward, Mario Valery-Trabucco has topped the first phase of fan balloting to help determine the winner of this year’s Hobey Baker Award.  Presented annually to college hockey’s top player, the 2010 Hobey recipient will be announced April 9 during the Frozen Four in Detroit, Mich. 

The first phase of the highly popular fan-voting phase concluded March 7, 2010 and those results were combined with the ballots submitted by all 58 Division I college hockey coaches to determine the Top Ten Hobey Baker candidates and will be formally announced on Thursday, March 18.

More than 175,000 votes were cast and here were the top five leaders in the fan balloting:

Player                                     Class, Pos.      School                         Votes

Mario Valery-Trabucco         SR, Fwd          Union                          20,473

Brian Gibbons                        JR, Fwd           Boston College           17,290

Bobby Butler                          SR, Fwd          New Hampshire          12,861

Chris Kushneriuk                   JR, Fwd           Robt. Morris               12,628

Tomas Petruska                      SR, Fwd          Bowling Green           11,586

Phase two of fan balloting will begin on March 19 from the list of Top Ten Hobey Baker finalists.  The fans’ vote accounts for a full 1 percent of the total ballot in each phase in selecting this year’s award recipient.

Visit the Hobey Baker website: hobeybaker.com.  Click on the Vote for Hobey Baker icon and follow the prompts to make your selection from this year’s outstanding crop of college hockey players.

Hobey Hobey Baker announcement dates for 2010 include:

  • Top Ten list of candidates:  March 18
  • Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists:  March 31
  • Hobey Baker Award winner:  April 9

The 2010 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 9, 2010 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Detroit, Mich.  The 30th award announcement honoring college hockey’s top player will be televised live during prime time on ESPNU at 6 p.m.  For more info on the Hobey Baker Award or to access the Hobey logo, please visit hobeybaker.com.