Team Rossignol 2009-10

     Some Duluth-connected Nordic skiers are part of the Rossignol-sponsored team for 2009-10, from elite to master, including Duluthian Nikolai Anikin, Duluth native Bjorn Batdorf of Minneapolis, and former resident JoAnn Hanowski and former Olympian John Bauer of Hayward, Wis. Here’s a release from the ski manufacturer:

     PARK CITY, Utah — Rossignol is excited to announce its strongest, fastest Nordic team ever. Rossignol supports all levels of Nordic Racers, and the 2009-2010 Rossi Nordic Team proves that by including US Team Members, top level elite racers, master racers, and college racers through our Red, White, and Blue program.
     Robert Lazzaroni, Rossignol’s Nordic Division Manager, says “I’m very excited about this coming season with such great team members. They are all fast skiers, but most important they are all great personalities. These athletes recognize Rossignol’s long time commitment to the sport and trust Rossignol to develop and produce very technical products that will help them reach their goals. Rossignol has a strong history in cross country skiing in the USA, and that will continue.”

     The Team is made up of the most accomplished, talented racers in the Nordic World. Rossignol would like to welcome new team members: Chris Cook, Andrew Johnson, Caitlyn Campton, Nikolai Anikin, Matt Briggs, and Matt Weier. Returning team members are Liz Stephens, Torin Koos, Zach Simmons, Anders Haugen, Bjorn Batdorf, Eli Enman, Kate Arduser, Kevin Hochtl, Mike Hinckley, Mark Iverson, Rachel Steer, Josh Smullin, Hilary Patzer, Rick Reynolds, Muffy Ritz, Jon Engen, John Bauer, Marc Gilbertson and JoAnn Hanowski.

Last season was great for the Rossi Nordic team, including these highlights: Liz Stephen winning 3 U.S. Nationals titles, Torin Koos racing on the World Cup, Bjorn Batdorf winning The City of Lakes Loppet, and Zack Simons winning the Boulder Mountain Tour.