2009 WCHA Awards

      ST. PAUL – Minnesota Duluth was represented on all four 2009 Western Collegiate Hockey Association men’s all-star teams named Thursday.

     Junior Alex Stalock of South St. Paul was the first-team goalie. He led the WCHA in goals-against average for league games at 2.39 and had a save percentage of .916.

     Sophomore right winger Justin Fontaine of Bonnyville, Alberta, was among the second-team forwards. He leads UMD’s scoring with 15 goals and 30 assists for 45 points in 38 games entering Thursday’s WCHA Final Five play-in game against Minnesota..

     Senior Josh Meyers of Alexandria, Minn., was a third-team defenseman. He leads UMD defensemen in scoring with 10 goals and 16 assists for 26 points.

     Freshman winger Mike Connolly of Calgary, Alberta, was on the all-rookie team. He’s third in scoring for the Bulldogs with 11 goals and 23 assists for 34 points.

     Four UMD players were also named WCHA scholar-athletes with a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale. Bulldogs named were sophomore forward Rob Bordson of Duluth; senior forward Matt Greer of Vadnais Heights, Minn.; sophomore goalie Kenny Reiter of Pittsburgh; and sophomore forward Kyle Schmidt of Hermantown.

2009 All-WCHA Teams

First Team

     Forwards – Ryan Stoa, Jr., Minnesota; Chad Rau, Sr., Colorado College; Ryan Lasch, Jr., St. Cloud State.

     Defensemen – Jamie McBain, Jr., Wisconsin; Chay Genoway, Jr., North Dakota.

     Goalie – Alex Stalock, Jr., Minnesota Duluth.

 Second Team

     Forwards – Justin Fontaine, So., Minnesota Duluth; Ryan Duncan, Sr., North Dakota; Jordan Schroeder, Fr., Minnesota.

     Defensemen – Patrick Wiercioch, Fr., Denver; Garrett Raboin, Jr., St. Cloud State.

     Goalie – Marc Cheverie, So., Denver.

 Third Team

     Forwards – Garrett Roe, So., St. Cloud State; Anthony Maiani, So., Denver; Rhett Rakhshani, Jr., Denver.

     Defensemen – Josh Meyers, Sr., Minnesota Duluth; Kurt Davis, So., Minnesota State-Mankato.

     Goalie – Brad Eidsness, Fr., North Dakota

 Rookie Team

     Forwards – Jordan Schroeder, Minnesota; Joe Colborne, Denver; Mike Connolly, Minnesota Duluth.

     Defensemen – Patrick Wiercioch, Denver; Jake Gardiner, Wisconsin.

     Goalie – Brad Eidsness, North Dakota.


Player of the Year — Jamie McBain, Defenseman, Jr., Wisconsin
Student-Athlete of the Year — J.P. Testwuide, Defenseman, Sr., Denver
Defensive Player of the Year — Chay Genoway, Defenseman, Jr., North Dakota
Rookie of the Year — Jordan Schroeder, Forward, Minnesota
Scoring Champion — Ryan Stoa, Forward, Jr., Minnesota
Goaltending Champion — Alex Stalock, Jr., Minnesota Duluth
Coach of the Year — Dave Hakstol, North Dakota